my AHA moment


It was so simple, and so powerful at the same time. Greeting the sunrise on the Grand Canyon South Rim. 6 am. No one around. Both my boys peacefully asleep, hugging. Just my coffee and me, sitting on the edge of an endlessly steep red rock.  No tourists with gigantic cameras clicking away shot after shot, not even engaged in the view.

The Grand Canyon is grand. It takes your breath away in seconds, while it takes at least a minute for your urbanized brain to process the vastness of the scene.

There I had it. My AHA moment. An insight. A glimpse. It is such a cliche but, I guess, cliches are there for a reason. When one looks and sees, and is there at the moment, utterly present. Everything feels so right and clear. There is no fear, anxiety, beliefs, or understanding. Just and effortless presence.

These brief moments make it all worth the effort.

Leave a Reply

